Tick it

to-do-listI like lists.

I take pleasure in writing lists for everything. It helps me to visualise and plan what I’m doing.

It alleviates my stress regarding events or tasks.

 

Here’s a list of my most frequent lists;

 

  1. Shopping list
    1. Weekly I write little shopping lists. I quite often forget to take them to the supermarket but that’s okay. I can usually visualise what was written.

 

  1. To Do List
    1. Each day at work I write things to do list before 08.30 and work my way through it. I add things as they come up and tick things off as I achieve them
    2. Every year I write a ‘to do’ list for the year. This unfortunately is my least successful list. I put this down to the one thing that turns up on this list every time……get a UK driving licence. As I live in the centre of London and am surrounded by excellent transport links I always put this off. Maybe it’s just not that important to me.

 

  1. School Holiday List
    1. My girls are unimpressed with the first part of the school holiday list as it details a chore for each day while they have little else to do. Chores range from putting a load of washing on and hanging it out on sunny days to cleaning the skirting boards on rainy ones. Each day a domestic task must be achieved as a contribution to home maintenance while I’m working to pay the bills
    2. Part two of the holiday list is the fun part. It contains the theatre trips, park outings, holidays and movie dates planned. I usually put 10 or so items and ask them to be ranked in order of preference and promise to get through at least 5 things. Everyone’s a winner!

 

  1. Camping List
    1. Once a year we attend Camp Bestival and I write equipment and food lists which I supply to the group with actions attached. Who’s bringing what food, the train times and meeting points all distributed a good month before the event. Right now it’s a mere 64 days until Camp Bestival 2014! There are 12 of us going this year and a planning lunch is imminent. Phase 1 of the preparations are about to kick off!

 

  1. Manufacturing List
    1. This is a live list that gets daily attention from most of the 80 people I work with. I compile a list and schedule of manufacture for up to 130 products, cross referencing shelf life, expiry dates, staff availability and machinery. It’s an ever changing list and required daily examination and communication.

 

  1. Travel List
    1. This list is a thing of joy. In 2013 I went to Thailand with my then 10 year old daughter for three weeks needless to say, together, we had lots of lists! The travel list morphs into a multiple strained list! We had a packing list, transport and connections list, a gift list. The best of all travel lists is the sight-seeing list! Together we did quite a bit of research on the best palaces and temples, tiger and elephant sanctuaries, places to eat, markets to visit, beaches and lakes to swim in. we started this list as soon as we booked the tickets and it was three months before the list was finished; I’m please to say that we managed to make it to about 80% of the places!

 

  1. Christmas list
    1. My giving list! I start this list in October. I list all my family and friends and then think of gifts for them. I change the gifts from black to green as I buy and store them. This list gives me great pleasure to know that I’m getting Christmas in hand and I can see that my gift giving is fair and appropriate.
    2. My feeding list. This is where I plan the Christmas and Boxing Day meals. The most I’ve cooked for on Christmas day has been 14 but on Boxing Day I have had up to 25 people pass by my dining table! I even go as fair as plan the cooking schedule starting a midnight on Christmas Eve to put the turkey in the oven, waking at 3am to check and turn it round then again at 6 am to take it out and replace it with a leg of lamb! (Maybe I should invest in a second oven!)

 

  1. Party List
    1. Let’s call this my speciality! I love arranging birthday parties, thinking up themes and making invitations. Parties for my daughters have ranged from pirates & princess, fascinators & tea party, bowling, movie night sleepovers and even a live animal show!
    2. My own birthday is usually celebrated in some way. For my 30th I had a three pronged affair starting with a ‘bring a dish’ party from 6pm to 10pm at a bar close to my house. From there 20 of us moved onto a different venue for a couple of hours then this was followed by 30 of us moving on to a club night where we danced until 6am! My 40th was a more sober affair where I hired a bar, catered African food and my daughter found a couple of great DJ’s. Over 40 friends and family danced until 3 in the morning

 

 

It may be that my list making is a little over the top for some and I confess that I take real pleasure in it but it’s not all consuming. My world doesn’t come crashing down if someone surprises me with a last minute trip. I can just throw stuff into a bag and go……………..though I prefer not too!

 

It’s hardly surprising that I’m a planning manager!

 

Tell me……….how many lists do you make regularly?

 

Which one is your favourite?

 

 

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this......please leave a few lines..

