Week 6 Day 1

Okay, so I impressed myself!

Despite being determined to get to that 5K run time, theres always been a niggling doubt at the back of my head. It whispers that maybe perhaps I’ve bitten off more that I can chew with this goal.

Yesterday I gave that niggle a good kicking!

I missed my Thursday day run for no other reason than I had spent the whole work day getting a plan together on microsoft project. Those of you who use it know how mind numbing that can be right? So after getting to work, despite a night where insomnia kicked my but I managed to get through 5 hours of staring at the gantt chart.

By the time I got home I was mentally finished.

I decided to hold off my week 6 until my undisturbed and unrushed Saturday morning gym session.

So on Saturday morning, after dispatching Inny to her math booster class, I entered the gym. My favourite window treadmill was free and I got straight into it.

It really is a case of mind over matter at this point.

12 minute run

3 minute brisk walk

12 minute run

The first run was smooth. When I got through the first 4 minutes I knew I was going to finish strong. I had already conquered 8 minutes so based on how my breathing was and my energy level I knew the first 12 minute run was in my bag.

The second was a bit harder. The last 2 minutes were endless and tough. I think I may have even yelled a ‘come on’ somewhere just to force myself through to the end! Sweat was dripping off me and I was battling myself at that point.

But I made it.

I’m feeling proud.

And I’m ready to do it all again tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “Week 6 Day 1

    1. Minty Post author

      Thank you so much for stopping by to comment Nikki. I’m glad you felt inspired! I’m truly enjoying running (perhaps not through those last two minutes though)

      Reply

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this......please leave a few lines..

