Week 4 Day 1 C25K

Image

Hurry up and get here already!

So firstly an update on my running shoe purchase. Basically I’m a Muppet! I ordered the wrong size.

Instead of ordering US 10.5 UK 8.5 (Asics come up a bit small it would seem) I ordered US 8.5 UK 6.5. Doh! Thankfully the team on the end of the Runners Need phone line are quite good. When I called yesterday the order was cancelled straight away and the correct size has been despatched to my store of choice. I will probably still be able to pick them up on Wednesday!

Yesterday I got home from work, settled Inny with her dinner and headed straight out to the gym.

Easy gym is quite busy at around 6 on a week day. Fortunately I didn’t have to wait for a treadmill as there were a few left. MrR already there running and I jumped on beside him.

I got straight into it.

5 minute brisk walk

4 minute run

1 minute brisk walk

4 minute run

1 minute brisk walk

4 minute run

1 minute brisk walk

4 minute run

1 minute brisk walk

4 minute run

1 minute brisk walk

5 minute brisk walk

Holy cow! The last run was a hard one! But I completed it.

As I’m following the C25k 101 podcast programme Tod Lang was talking in my ear the whole time.  He helpfully informed me that the next weeks programme would be 8 minute runs with 5 minute interludes.

I am scared! 8 minutes seems like such a long run to me. I’m having self-defeatist thoughts about it. Fortunately Tod Lang helpfully informed me that there’s a C25K W4.2 bridge week that is 6 minutes runs. I downloaded that this morning just in case.

Little Big Brother, MrR, ran for an hour and 20 minutes covering 15.5K on the treadmill next to me yesterday! But when I finished gave me sincere congratulations and told me I should be proud as it was indeed a great accomplishment. He thinks I should not go to the week4.2, that I should try the 8 minute runs first.

He has a bit more faith in my abilities than I do it seems!

I’m sticking with it though. I will finish this programme!

2 thoughts on “Week 4 Day 1 C25K

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this......please leave a few lines..

