ONE ENCHANTED EVENING

I toss and turn in my sleep
Lull like the flow of the creek
On dark enchanted evenings
When things might not be what they seem
My dreams must mean more
Than the feeling upon waking
Dewy eyed and crinkled
From the twisting of the sheets

And the more I think about things
The more things escape me

We’re talking round in circles
About the way things should be
Which battles are worth fighting
And what is honesty

And what is one womans insanity
Is another womans peace

I paced the room at four am
Languidly like a puma
Residing deep within me
That purrs sensually
Through jaws of steel
Pondering the value placed upon these
Moments we conclude have great meaning
Should anyone ever understand them

And if I could wash
All the pain away
And give all the good moments a second go around

I receded in to the sofa
The camouflage my bristling aura
Amidst the cloak of usual
Though burning wanton hope
Languishing in a daydream
Resenting every desire
Expecting every rejection

I breathed in a certainty
Down into the depths of being
How achievable a journey
Through two lives could be
And the memories concur
At the last shutting of an eye

And could I entice love to burn
And play joy like a flute
I would flood one heart

I think I understand the sea
And the depths of dreams
Chopped mercilessly by reality
That washes me with fears
Rolling on my tongue
That I chew and spit as tobacco
Teaching me what not to say
And fills me with the unspoken
Whilst I wait for the listener
To discover splattered around my feet
The well of words in me

I am waiting to give away
……………….some of…………..
…….these……………………
………………………moments
……………………to
………………………………….y………
…………………………

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this......please leave a few lines..

