THINGS TO DO

Every morning when I get to work I make a things-to-do list.

This morning I have such delights as;

  1. Raise 16 works orders
  2. Fill out my appraisal form
  3. Attend 2 meetings
  4. Sort out some software for a department
  5. Organise company picnic

Not much? Well the meetings will eat up at least 3 hours of my day, the orders another hour. The dreaded appraisal form is a half day job at least and as for the software issue…………..well how long is a piece of string?

Suddenly 8 hours is not enough.

And so it is with life.

I have a to-do-list for the year;

  1. Have a holiday
  2. Creative writing course
  3. Theory driving test
  4. Ride bike to work 3 times a week
  5. Practical driving test
  6. Complete insanity
  7. Change job

Okay so the holiday is done and there may be another one on the cards at Christmas.

As its April already I’ve kind of sold myself short by not getting on with the tasks at hand so I’ve been investigating number 2 – creative writing course.

The obvious place to start in London was The City Lit.

http://www.citylit.ac.uk/courses/Creative_writing

At the City Lit there are over 20 different 1 day courses starting at £45 (with concession prices starting at £17!) I ‘m thinking of enrolling in either; ‘autobiography into fiction’ or ‘writing for children’ courses (or both!)

So number 2 is in hand. I’ll let you know how I get on.

Driving! 3 and 5. This old chestnut keeps rearing its ugly head. I’m always in a funk about this one.

I want to drive but don’t want to and possibly can’t afford the drama of a car. I love London transport. For all the complaints it’s not as expensive as owning and maintaining and parking a car in London. It connects you to all areas without traffic jams and the inconvenience of forgetting to fill up.

Should I shouldn’t I? I’m in my forties and I’ve survived so far!

Cycling. Jeeze I love my bike! I’m fortunate enough to have most of my cycling route to work through Hackney. Riding the back streets of Clapton and Dalston is an absolute pleasure. Why don’t I do this more often?

Image

Well because I’m not organised enough to make time for me! I don’t pack my bag of an evening ready for the next morning and I don’t plan my outfits. So I get up in the morning and start the rummaging through the drawers and wardrobe to find THAT top or THOSE tights……….nothing is where I think it is. By the time that adventure is over it’s too late to organize and pack a bag for cycling.

Insanity and a new job —- that’s another blog

Time for a G&T my darlings………….

“In the long run, we shape our lives, and we shape ourselves. The process never ends until we die. And the choices we make are ultimately our own responsibility.”

― Eleanor Roosevelt

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this......please leave a few lines..

